WritingsArticles & SpeechesJoven Obrero's book of poems, the gumamela is still...

Joven Obrero’s book of poems, the gumamela is still red, is now off the press and available for sale.

-

Below are my foreword and the front back cover.

Foreword
By Prof. Jose Maria Sison

I am delighted and honored to write this foreword to Joven Obrero’s The Gumamela Is Still Red, the sequel to her Warriors, Poets and Friends. These two books of poetry reflect the revolutionary struggle of the people for national and social liberation in Mindanao and the outstanding participation of the author, especially in educational and cultural work.

Like its antecedent, The Gumamela Is Still Red is mainly a book of poems but appropriately includes brief items in prose, such as narratives and correspondences, in order to contextualize the poems in historical, class and personal terms from the revolutionary viewpoint of the proletariat, all toiling masses of workers and peasants and the Lumad communities.

I appreciate Obrero’s use of the gumamela as the metaphor for the revolutionary struggle of the people. It is a plant with large vibrant red flowers that grows abundantly on the mountains, hills and plains of the Philippines. This key metaphor indicates the keen poetic imagination of the author who grasps what is meaningful and beautiful in what many other people may overlook.

The current book of poems of Obrero deserves to be read by all Filipino patriots and revolutionaries and by all foreign friends in solidarity with them. She is an excellent poet with the noblest sense of revolutionary vision and mission. Her 11 poems are finely crafted to express in concrete terms and natural imagery the heroism, hard struggle, sacrifices and aspirations of the communist cadres, Red fighters and the masses.

Like I do, Obrero writes poetry in the tradition of Mao Zedong, Ho Chi Minh, Pablo Neruda and Maya Daniel (Felix Salditos) who has a number of poems included in the book. Even in a few poems which appear to be rough-hewn, Obrero suits the literal expressions to the actual direct language of the masses and to the need for spelling out the problems that afflict them.

Once you start to read the book, you are drawn in by her personal involvement and commitment to the revolutionary struggle, especially by her perseverance despite tremendous odds and sacrifices, including the martyrdom of excellent cadres like her husband Ka Deo. Then you wish to know further about her self-fulfillment in the struggle and what about other women in the struggle.

You find out the self-fulfillment of Warmina and other women who join the tactical offensives after complaining that they are limited to nonmilitary tasks and demanding the equal right of women to participate in fighting. You appreciate the fact that the people’s war offers everything to everyone who desires liberation from imperialism and all forms of reaction.

As you read further, you come to know and respect the man who never said no to any plea for help from the masses in need and to find ways of solving the problem. And for all his goodness and service to the people, the enemy would hate him and kill him. But his martyrdom becomes an inspiration in the most difficult 12 times of walking and climbing on rough terrain in order to elude the enemy.

The book presents the plight of the tribes who have been repeatedly pushed out of their ancestral domain by the logging, mining and plantation operations of the landgrabbing multinational corporations and their traitorous local partners. You share with the poet what she learns from the tribal chief Matigsalug. Thus, you admire the eagerness of the 19-year old Lumad to join a guerrilla operation and you feel angry that the enemy would kill him.

Obrero is not confined to the fastnesses and communities in the countryside. The scale of her poetry keeps on widening. She knows the mass protests in the cities and celebrates them.

She bewails the violence of the enemy in the streets. She is in touch with a friend in prison and with a child whose parents are missing and who is in the care of comrades. She criticizes gently the youth who are obsessed with selfies, posing as cute in Facebook and unmindful of the gravely sick social system and the need for social revolution.

She reflects on the Covid-19 quarantine and communicates with a slum dweller who represents the people most hard hit by the pandemic, the loss and jobs, the lack of ayuda and the aggravation of the chronic crisis of the semicolonial and semifeudal ruling system and the berserk tyranny, treason, butchery and plunder under the Duterte regime. To demonstrate how well the revolutionaries learn from the masses, Obrero Obrero presents their conversation with the agriworkers. We learn how they lose their land to the multinational corporations 13 and their local partners through lease and growers’ agreements and how they are exploited through labor ‘cooperatives’ which are in fact labor contracting agencies no different from the old cabo system.

Obrero indicates that the consequence of social investigation is the publication of the oppression and exploitation and of course the actions by the masses and the revolutionary forces to fight back. But twice in the book she finds the occasion to dream about genuine land reform and peasant cooperatives in sharp contrast to the current suffering of the peasants and farm workers.

The book concludes that the gumamela is still red and urges the youth to rise up against the despotism of Duterte and the entire ruling system under which the broad masses of the people are suffering intolerable conditions of oppression and exploitation.

Obrero sings odes to the Communist Party of the Philippines and to the protracted people’s war. She does not mind the long wait so long as all efforts are exerted to make the long leap.

The protracted people’s war has created the basis for accelerated people’s war in stride with the worsening crisis of the semicolonial and feudal ruling system and that of the world capitalist system.

Jose Ma. Sison
Utrecht, the Netherlands

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest news

Decision on the petition for proscription against the CPP-NPA as terrorist organizations filed by the DOJ on 21 Feb 2018 with the RTC branch...

The Program of the CPP which is also synonymous with “Plan of Action”, can be construed as the respondent organizations’ “purpose for being,” or the very reasons for its establishment. A perusal of the foregoing Program, consisting of lofty ideals readily shows that the CPP-NPA is organized or exists, not for the purpose engaging in terrorism.

AFP admission of baseless red-tagging, mass murder, fake surrenders and corruption

The credibility problem of the reactionary military begins with the fact that they are the brutal and corrupt instrument of US imperialism and the local exploiting classes

Climate Crisis Special: System change not climate change!

Questions from ND Online School of Anakbayan-Europa Answers by Jose Maria Sison

ITANONG MO KAY PROF Topic: Eleksyong 2022: Saan talaga patungo?

Mahalaga ang bumoto ng kandidatong lumalaban sa tambalang Marcos-Duterte pero mahalaga ding lumahok sa pambansang kilusan na magtatanggol sa karamihan sa atin na inuulila, ninanakawan, pinapahiya, tinatakot at tinatanggalan ng karapatan

The PEPP is absolutely correct

attacks being carried out by the military under Duterte are in violation of human rights and international law because they are indiscriminate attacks against civilian communities and they provoke

In honor of comrade Jorge (Ka Oris) Madlos, outstanding Filipino patriot and communist

the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the Philippines and the National Operational Command of the New People’s Army paid the highest tribute to Ka Oris on November 2

Must read

Decision on the petition for proscription against the CPP-NPA as terrorist organizations filed by the DOJ on 21 Feb 2018 with the RTC branch...

The Program of the CPP which is also synonymous with “Plan of Action”, can be construed as the respondent organizations’ “purpose for being,” or the very reasons for its establishment. A perusal of the foregoing Program, consisting of lofty ideals readily shows that the CPP-NPA is organized or exists, not for the purpose engaging in terrorism.

AFP admission of baseless red-tagging, mass murder, fake surrenders and corruption

The credibility problem of the reactionary military begins with the fact that they are the brutal and corrupt instrument of US imperialism and the local exploiting classes

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you